The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

“The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind” by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer is an inspiring children’s book. It’s about a boy in Africa who needs to find a way to get water to his village. Because he’s so inventive, he learns how to make a windmill. The first connection I can make to this book is a “text-to-self” connection. Like the boy in the book, I like to think of myself as an inventive person. I, like the book, often wonder how things are put together and how they work. The second connection I can make is a “text-to-world” connection. This boy from the story doesn’t live in the only village in Africa that has been starving. This is a true story, and it doesn’t only apply to Africa. There are places in Ecuador, Columbia, and some other countries that are put in the boy’s village’s situation, rainless. It’s sad how because not everyone believes in children and their abilities, not every village has as a bright a boy as the village in the book does. The last connection I can make is a “text-to-text” connection. There was a book I once read called “The Kite Runner”. The boy from the Kite Runner was rich and lived in afghanistan, but he was just as bright as the boy in “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind”. The boy from The Kite Runner didn’t invent something that saved his city, but he did what he could, like the other boy, to help his community. I found “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind” to be a lovely book and enjoyed reading. Therefore, I give it 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *